Dr. Angelika Winzig

Head of the Austrian EPP Delegation

Committee on Budgets
Committee on Budgetary Control
Committee on International Trade
Committee on Research, Industry and Energy
Committee on Womens' Rights and Equality



Ms Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission. European Commission Rue de la Loi 170 1049 - Brussels Belgium

Brussels, 15 November 2022

Roam-Like-At-Home for Western Balkan

Dear Honorable President,

we are living in extraordinarily challenging times. During your speech on the State of the European Union on September 14, you were clear on the decisive measures we have to take to support Ukraine in its fight against the Russian aggressor.

In this regard, we also very much welcomed your acknowledgment of the need to include Ukraine in the European Free Roaming Area and your assessment that "it is really time to do that now". While you have our full support for this endeavour, we would also like to draw your attention to another European region that deserves to benefit from free roaming, namely the countries of the Western Balkan.

Right now, it is important to gather under one roof all those, who share our European values. The Western Balkan states have proven that they are reliable partners of the European Union. With the European Commission's recommendation on October 12 to grant candidate status to Bosnia-Herzegovina, another milestone in the Union's enlargement policy has been reached.

It is clear that the accession negotiations with these states will continue for some time to ensure that all the necessary criteria are fulfilled. However, an important step could be taken right now by tearing down the roaming barriers allowing for the Western Balkans states and their citizens to grow even closer to the European Union.

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, therefore call on the European Commission to quickly present a clear roadmap aimed at ending roaming surcharges between the European Union and the Western Balkans, thereby enlarging the European Free Roaming Area for the benefit of the European citizens. The time to act is now.

Sincerely

Dr. Angelika Winzig

Head of the Austrian EPP Delegation

Committee on Budgets

Committee on Budgetary Control Committee on International Trade

Committee on Research, Industry and Energy Committee on Womens' Rights and Equality



Angelika WINZIG, EPP

(Rapporteur for the Recast of the Roaming

Regulation)

Izaskun BILBAO BARANDICA, Renew

(Shadow-Rapporteur for the Recast of the

Roaming Regulation) Evžen TOŠENOVSKÝ, ECR

(Shadow-Rapporteur for the Recast of the

Roaming Regulation)

Emil RADEV, EPP

Karen MELCHIOR, Renew Marion WALSMANN, EPP Petra KAMMEREVERT, S&D Angelika NIEBLER, EPP

Anna CAVAZZINI, Greens/EFA

Michael GAHLER, EPP Marlene MORTLER, EPP Maria WALSH, EPP Frances FITZGERALD, EPP

Andrius KUBILIUS, EPP Thijs REUTEN, S&D

Thomas WAITZ, Greens/EFA Sarah WIENER, Greens/EFA Monika VANA, Greens/EFA

Theresa MUIGG, S&D Hannes HEIDE, S&D

Alexander BERNHUBER, EPP Christian SAGRATZ, EPP

Róża THUN UND HOHENSTEIN, Renew

Jerzy BUZEK, EPP

Paulo RANGEL, EPP Maria GRAPINI, S&D Vlad GHEORGHE, Renew

Cristian-Silviu BUŞOI, EPP Iuliu WINKLER, EPP David LEGA, EPP Vladimír BILČÍK, EPP Franc BOGOVIČ, EPP

Romana TOMC, EPP

Robert HAJŠEL, S&D

(Shadow-Rapporteur for the Recast of the

Roaming Regulation)
Jordi SOLÉ, Greens/EFA

(Shadow-Rapporteur for the Recast of the

Roaming Regulation)
Marisa MATIAS, The Left

(Shadow-Rapporteur for the Recast of the

Roaming Regulation)

Andrey KOVATCHEV, EPP Christine SCHNEIDER, EPP

Rasmus ANDRESEN, Greens/EFA Manuela RIPA, Greens/EFA

Markus PIEBER, EPP Jens GIESEKE, EPP

Viola VON CRAMON-TAUBADEL, Greens/EFA

Maria SPYRAKI, EPP Seán KELLY, EPP Inese VAIDERE, EPP

Tineke STRIK, Greens/EFA Dorien ROOKMAKER, ECR Othmar KARAS, EPP Roman HAIDER, ID

Simone SCHMIEDTBAUER, EPP

Claudia GAMON, Renew Barbara THALER, EPP Lukas MANDL, EPP Andreas SCHIEDER, S&D Adam JARUBAS, EPP

Maria Da Graça CARVALHO, EPP

Siegfried MUREŞAN, EPP Marian-Jean MARINESCU, EPP

Loránt VINCZE, EPP Cristian TERHEŞ, ECR Ioan-Rareş BOGDAN, EPP Erik BERGKVIST, S&D Klemen GROŠELJ, Renew Irena JOVEVA, Renew Miriam LEXMANN, EPP

Dr. Angelika Winzig

Head of the Austrian EPP Delegation

Committee on Budgets
Committee on Budgetary Control
Committee on International Trade
Committee on Research, Industry and Energy
Committee on Womens' Rights and Equality



Peter POLLÁK, EPP
Michal ŠIMEČKA, Renew
Evžen TOŠENOVSKÝ, ECR
Ernő SCHALLER-BAROSS, NI
Kinga GÁL, NI
Balázs HIDVÉGHI, NI
László TRÓCSÁNYI, NI
Edina TÓTH, NI
Petri Sarvamaa, EPP
Evelyn Regner, S&D

Matjaž NEMEC, S&D Milan BRGLEZ, S&D Enikő GYŐRI, NI András GYÜRK, NI Andor DELI, NI Ádám KÓSA, NI György HÖLVÉNYI, EPP Lívia JÁRÓKA, NI Rasa Juknevičienė, EPP Günther Sidl, S&D